Posted by: whisperernc | February 24, 2011

4 Legged Friend

The love held in your heart
Captivates me from the start
Holding you in my arms
You lick my face with all your charm

Watching you as days go by
You quickly grow, I wonder why
That you are given so little time
To live on earth and be all mine

Years pass by, you run and play
I know one day you cannot stay
For time takes a lasting toll
One day you’ll have a new role

To leave the world and be set free
I know you will be watching me
With a saddened heart I will go on
Because of you I can sing a song

The day has come to say goodbye
Holding you, I start to cry
Memories come rushing in
Of  how you’ve been my best friend

Losing you, I will go on
You worry that I’m not that strong
Because of you my life was blessed
And filled with so much happiness

Thank you, my 4 legged friend
In due time my heart will mend
A part of me, you’ll always be
My friend for all eternity

Barb Borkowski
February 24, 2011

Responses

  1. This brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for putting into words what the rest of us feel. 😉

  2. You are welcome, Karen. Thank you for taking time to read and comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

